Same-Sex Marriages Now Legally Recognized in All 50 States

As of June 26, 2015, same-sex couples may now be granted a marriage license in all fifty states in the U.S. This comes after the U.S. Supreme Court ruling regarding the Obergefell v. Hodges case, where the decision was made with a close 5-4 vote. Not only can same-sex couples now get married in states where it was previously banned, but their marriages will not be required to be recognized in every state as well.

This decision greatly affects the 14 states where a same-sex marriage ban was in place, including Georgia, Texas, Tennessee, North Dakota, South Dakota, Mississippi, most of Missouri, Nebraska, Kansas, Alabama, Arkansas, Michigan, Louisiana and Ohio. President Barack Obama commented on this historic decision, calling it “justice that arrives like a thunderbolt.” For many, this was a joyous occasion and within hours of the decision being announced, same-sex couples were granted marriage licenses from county clerks throughout the country.

For more information on this topic, read the latest from CNN.